Govt foils Hurriyat’s Eidgah march

Kashmir shuts to remember Mirwaiz Muhammad Farooq, Abdul GaniLone * Srinagar areas under curfew

The J&K government Wednesday foiled the ‘EidgahChalo’ called by the Hurriyat Conference led by Mirwaiz Umar Farooq by imposing restrictions in several old Srinagar areas. Normal life across Kashmir was affected due to the shutdown called by the amalgam to commemorate the death anniversaries of Mirwaiz Muhammad Farooq and Abdul Gani Lone.
Restrictions were imposed in areas falling under seven police stations of Srinagar including Khanyar, Rainawari, Nowhatta, MR Gunj, Kralkhud, Zadibal and Safakadal to thwart the separatist march to the martyrs’ graveyard in Eidgah area of Srinagar. Officials said the day passed off peacefully. 
In old Srinagar, contingents of police and Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) were deployed at almost all “sensitive places” to thwart the Hurriyat (M) march and protests. The forces had erected barricades and closed all exit and entrance points to old Srinagar to prevent movement of people.
Forces in large numbers were also deployed in civil lines areas of Srinagar. 
Shops, public transport, educational institutions and other businesses remained closed while government offices, banks, post offices and other public sector undertakings witnessed thin attendance due to non-availability of public transport.  However, private vehicles were seen plying normally in various parts of the city.
The shutdown call evoked moderate response in north and south Kashmir. Reports from Ganderbal and Budgam said the strike had partial impact in the twin districts while reports from Kupwara, Bandipora, Baramulla and Sopore said the strike had “very little impact” there.
Police said Hurriyat Conference (M) chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and some other leaders of the conglomerate were placed under house arrest. They include Moulana Abbas Ansari, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Agha Syed Hassan and Media Advisor to Mirwaiz, Advocate Shahid-ul-Islam.
Police said some other leaders of the conglomerate including Javaid Mir, Hilal War, Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Hakim Abdul Rashid, SaleemGilani, Zafar Akbar Bhat, Shaheen Iqbal, MushtaqSofi and Yasmin Raja were taken into preventive custody.

Previous post Govt lifts SMS ban
Next post JK rejects GoI move to declare Khannabal-Panjtarni route as ‘national highway’