Foiling Anantnag rally admission of defeat by govt: Resistance Leadership

The joint resistance leadership comprising Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik on Friday strongly condemned the government for once again “resorting to use of unbridled force” to bar the leadership and people from marching to Anantnag where a peaceful rally was supposed to be held.
According to a JRL statement, the rally supposed to be held at LalChowk, Anantnag was aimed to express solidarity with the people of southern areas of Kashmir.
“While the entire Anantnag town was barricaded and turned into a military garrison and communication lines snapped, many parts of Srinagar were put under curfew and restrictions, even as resistance leaders and activists were caged through raids and arrests,” the JRL statement read.
The JRL said that as part of the crackdown on resistance leadership and activists, the government arrested dozens of Hurriyat and JKLF leaders and activists in day-long and nocturnal raids.
“While Syed Ali Geelani continues to remain under house arrest and JKLF chief Muhammad Yasin Malik remains lodged in central jail Srinagar, the Hurriyat chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq has been under house arrest since December 8,” the leadership said. “Mirwaiz tried to defy the curbs and broke the cordon laid by the police outside his Nigeen residence, but wasn’t allowed to proceed towards Anantnag and was lodged at SP office at Hazratbal.”
The leadership said that the police continued to conduct nocturnal and day-long raids on houses of hundreds of youth in Srinagar and Anantnag “only to instill fear among the minds of people and scuttle the plans of Anantnag march.”
“Imposition of strict curfew, caging resistance leaders and conducting raids and blocking all the roads reflect the acceptance of defeat by the authorities as it signifies their nervousness and fear of exposure just on the call of peaceful rallies given by the resistance camp,” the JRL said.
They said that the crackdown launched on the resistance camp to scuttle the march to Anantnag “reflects acceptance of defeat by the government.”
The leadership said that resistance leaders and activists who were arrested or lodged in various police stations in Srinagar, Baramulla and Anantnag include Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai, Aga Syed Hasaan Al Mosvi, Musaddiq Adil, GN Zaki, Mukhtar Waza, Muhammad Ashraf Laya, engineer Hilal Ahmad War, Bilal Sidiqi, Muhammad Yousuf Naqash, Molvi Bashir Irfani, Muhammad Yasin Attai, Imtiyaz Haider, Mushtaq Ajmal, Zahoor Ahmad Bhat, Adil Ahmed Dar, Moulana Mudasir Nadvi, Muhammad Shafi Dar, Bashir Kashmiri, Abdul Ahad, Arif Khan, Hafeez-ur-Rehman, Ghulam Muhammad Dar, Bashir Ahmad Dar, Rameez Raja, Abdul Sattar, Mushtaq Ahmad Mir, Fayaz Ahmed Mir, Rafiq Ahmed, Umar Ahmad Bala, Mehrajudin, Mudasir Ahmed, Fayaz Ahmed, Farooq Ahmed Saudagar, Shabir Ahmed, Zahoor Ahmed, Showkat Ahmed Bakshi, advocate Yasir Rouf Dalal, and Noor Muhammad Kalwal.