1.55% Voter turnout in Anantnag district till 9 AM, 0.27% in Bijbehara, 2.5% in Kokernag

1.55 percent votes have been polled till 9 am on Tuesday in Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, an official said.

Polling began at 7 a.m. and will end at 4 pm for the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

Heavy deployment of The Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and state police has been made to secure the polling stations and provide safety to the voters.

There are around 714 polling stations set up for 5,23,566 voters in six polling segments of Bijbehara, Pahalgam, Shangus, Anantnag, Kokernag and Dooru.

Poll authorities have set up 26 polling stations outside the valley for Kashmiri Pandit migrant voters.

Of these, 21 have been set up in Jammu, four in Delhi and one in Udhampur district.

Mehbooba Mufti, the Peoples Democratic Party President, Ghulam Ahmed Mir, state President of the Congress, Justice (Retired) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference, Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chowdhury Zafar Ali of the People’s Conference are in the fray in this constituency.

Polling in Anantnag district (1st Phase of Anantnag constituency) was dull till 9 AM with people staying in doors in most of the segments and only 1.44 poll percentage recorded.

As per the official data, Bijbehara segnment witnessed the lowest poll percentage of 0.27 till 9 AM while Kokernag recorded 2.5%.

Poll Percentage Breakup
Anantnag AS – 0.85%
Dooru – 1.49%
Kokernag – 2.55%
Shangus – 1.52%
Bijbehara – 0.27%
Pahalgam – 1.91%