Kashmir InFocus

Live News Guaranteed

Independent councillor withdraws support to Kargil council

In a significant development, Independent councillor Kacho Ahmad Ali Khan today withdrew support to the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), Kargil, headed by National Conference (NC) councillor and Chief Executive Councillor (CEC) Haji Mohammad Haneefa Jan.
The LAHDC, Kargil, governs the district politically and withdrawal of support by Kacho Khan, councillor from Yurbaltak constituency who is a former CEC, has led to a political crisis in the council.
Official sources told The Tribune that the Independent councillor shot off a letter to Kargil Deputy Commissioner Hassan Khan, the Chief Executive Officer of LAHDC, Kargil, informing him about the decision and requesting “necessary action”.
“Congress councillors and Kacho Khan have sought dissolution of the LAHDC executive body immediately,” sources said.
The LAHDC, Kargil, has 26 elected and four nominated councillors. Nominated councillors have voting rights in the council.
Till now, CEC Haneefa Jan had the support of 16 members — eight of the NC, four Independents and four nominated councillors.
With today’s development, the NC is left with the support of only 15 members and requires the support of one more councillor to remain in majority. The principal opposition party, the Congress, claimed the support of 14 members — 11 members elected on the party ticket and three Independents.
Kacho Khan had joined the Peoples Democratic Party last year in the presence of then Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed.
“We have come to know that he (Kacho Khan) has withdrawn support and conveyed his decision to the Deputy Commissioner, who will take the final decision. He may write to the Ladakh Affairs Department and ask us to prove majority in the council again. We are hopeful of doing it,” the CEC told The Tribune over phone from Kargil.
Haneefa Jan won the CEC election on April 13 last year by polling 15 votes. His rival and Congress candidate Mohammad Aamir, Independent councillor from Khangral, got 14 votes with one council seat vacant at that time.